What are considered vegetables?

Vegetables are plants that are consumed before creating seeds. They can be leaves or roots, but not the seed-producing part of the plant. The plant-based food we eat that has seeds in the food are technically fruits. The part we eat is what separates fruit from vegetable. Only fruits have seeds.

---

Vegetables are usually classified on the basis of the part of the plant that is used for food. The root vegetables include beets, carrots, radishes, sweet potatoes, and turnips. Stem vegetables include asparagus and kohlrabi. Among the edible tubers, or underground stems, are potatoes.