What is the difference between a palmetto bug and a cockroach?

A Palmetto Bug is always a Cockroach, however a Cockroach is not always a Palmetto Bug. The term Palmetto Bug is a nickname for the American Cockroach commonly used in the Southern part of the United States.

---

they are both an american roach. Mostly people in florida call them palmetto bugs, but its an american roach.