Do bears eat berries?

Some bear species will eat berries and other soft fruits as they become available throughout the summer. These include fruits of various currants, wild sarsaparilla, dogwoods, strawberries, raspberries, pin and chokecherries, blueberries, and bristly sarsaparilla.

---

Yes. Berries and other soft fruits are eaten as they become available throughout the summer. Bears can double their body weight in years when fruits are abundant.