What is a primordial pouch on a cat?

The primordial pouch in cats is a genetic characteristic that has been maintained from the first breeds of wild cats. Currently it can still be useful to store fat to provide energy and it serves as protection as an extra layer of skin and fat if a cat were to get into a fight with other animals.