Why are icebergs freshwater?

Icebergs do not have any salt to begin with. Icebergs are not pieces of frozen ocean water. Rather, icebergs are frozen chunks of freshwater that begin their life on land. It all starts when snow falls in a region of land that is too cold for the snow to melt.