Is sonic fast or slow?

Based on his namesake, which means “relating to the nature of sound,” Sonic has the capability to run at the speed of sound, which travels at approximately 767 mph. In the live-action film, however, Sonic is shown to be traveling at a much slower rate early on in the film.