What was the beat movement?

The Beat Generation was a literary movement in the 1950s that encouraged the rejection of American middle class materialism, the expression of free love and sexual liberation, and the usurping of literary formalism. Notable beatniks are Allen Ginsberg, William S. Burroughs, and Jack Kerouac