Do you know hal from two thousand space odyssey?

Yes, we are friends - though he refuses to open the pod bay door for me.

---

Yes. HAL was the onboard computer for the fictional space ship, Discovery 1. Some say that he was so named because these letters are one-removed from I, B, M.