Can you wash a weighted blanket in the washing machine?

Most weighted blankets come with one of the following instructions: Machine Wash and Dry: When machine washing, choose a bleach-free, gentle detergent, and wash your blanket in cold or warm water on a gentle cycle. Avoid fabric softeners.