What is the rarest duck in the world?

As of 2022, the Crested Shelduck is the rarest duck in the world, with an estimated number of 49 mature individuals remaining. It's a relic species belonging to prehistoric times and considered extinct by experts. They haven't been officially seen since 1964, and lastly in 1991 without solid proof.

---

Once believed to believed to be extinct for 15 years until its rediscovery in 2006 A group of Madagascar pochards was discovered.