What does an ekg tell you?

An electrocardiogram, also called an ECG or EKG, is a simple, painless test that detects and records your heart's electrical activity. ... This test also is used to detect and study heart problems such as heart attacks, arrhythmia or irregular heartbeat, and heart failure.