Why was stonehenge built?

Hundreds of human bones have recently been found at the site, dating across 1,000 years, showing signs of cremation. The presence of hundreds of these human bones suggests that Stonehenge could have served as an ancient burial ground as well as a ceremonial complex and temple of the dead.