How do you know when a cheesecake is ready?

A cheesecake is ready when the sides are golden brown and shrinking away from the pan but the inside is still slightly soft. at this time turn off the oven and let cool slowly with the oven when it is room temp put it in the fridge to fully cool - if not cooled slowly the top of the cake will crack