What is the key ingredient in detergent?

The surfactant which is the most important ingredient is often a mixed anionic/nonionic system. Most products don't contain builders. Liquid detergent that don't contain builders generally contain a high percentage of surfactant. These are the builders in liquid products are sodium citrate and soap.