Is q. u. o. y. a. word?

Yes, "quoy," spelled Q-U-O-Y, is an actual English word, though mainly as an archaic word in the Scottish dialect, used mostly in place names. It refers to a former wasteland or common pasture now enclosed for use in raising livestock.