What is the temperature of the ocean water?

The average temperature of the ocean surface waters is about 17 degrees Celsius (62.6 degrees Fahrenheit). 90 % of the total volume of ocean is found below the thermocline in the deep ocean. The deep ocean is not well mixed. The deep ocean is made up of horizontal layers of equal density.