Why do you not wear white after labor day?

if you lived in the dirty city, you wore dark clothes. If you were wealthy enough to escape to a vacation home for the summer, you wore white “leisure” looks — until it was time to return to urban life, that is. Labor Day is the traditional end of summer when vacations end