What is sherpa clothing?

“Sherpa lining,” in the garment industry, refers to a polyester lining with a deep pile and large, fuzzy “naps” that give it a bumpy texture. The overall effect is similar to real sheep's wool, but sherpa lining is lighter weight, much less bulky, and faster drying.