How did louis armstrong get the nick name satchmo?

Someone dubbed him "satchel mouth" for his mouth acting as a satchel. Another tale is that because of his large mouth, he was nicknamed "satchel mouth" which was shortened to "Satchmo". Early on he was also known as "Dipper", short for "Dippermouth", a reference to the piece Dippermouth Blues.