What is third degree murder?

Third degree murder can be defined as homicide committed with the intention of causing bodily harm, but not necessarily death. It can be a killing that results from indifference or negligence or recklessness. Statutes defining third degree murder vary considerably from state to state.

---

Someone can be accused of third-degree murder if they unintentionally cause someone else's death while committing a dangerous act. Only three states have third-degree murder laws: Minnesota, Florida, and Pennsylvania.