What is shield stand for in marvel?

S.H.I.E.L.D. is a fictional espionage, special law enforcement, and counter-terrorism agency appearing in American comic books published by Marvel Comics. The acronym stands for Strategic Hazard Intervention Espionage Logistics Directorate.