Who is robert stroud?

Robert Stroud, known as the Birdman of Alcatraz, was a convicted murderer, and author. During his time at Leavenworth Penitentiary, he took care of, researched, and wrote a book about birds. He was moved to Alcatraz in 1942. He was not allowed to keep his birds, and was never released from prison.