What's the most accurate way to take a baby's temperature?

Taking your baby's temperature rectally will give you the most accurate result, and the best tools for this are rectal thermometers, which are designed specifically for this purpose. Look for one with a flexible tip and a wide handle that won't let you insert the thermometer more than an inch.