Why did america bomb japan?

It was a pre-emptive attempt to disable the US Pacific fleet which would allow Japan to conquer Asia and the Pacific. Japan needed more natural resources like oil, rubber, and minerals, that could be found in Dutch Indies and Malaysia. They hoped to conquer these while the US was still recovering.