Why do you say break a leg?

There are numerous stories about this expression used to wish theater performers good luck. The most prevalent story refers to the early days of theater. Actors who were not performing stayed behind the stage’s “leg line.” Actors told to “break a leg,” were being wished the opportunity to perform.