What's the difference between sour milk and buttermilk?

According to Wikipedia: Buttermilk is a fermented dairy drink. Traditionally, it was the liquid left behind after churning butter out of cultured cream. Modern butter is not made with cultured cream but uncultured sweet cream, so most modern buttermilk is cultured separately.