Why are babies born jaundice?

Infant jaundice is usually an indication of an excess of the compound bilirubin in the baby's blood. Infant livers, especially in early births and some breast-fed babies, may not be mature enough to remove all the bilirubin from the bloodstream, causing a yellow cast in the skin.