Is there such thing as the space force?

Yes. The U.S. Space Force is the 6th independent U.S. military service branch, tasked with missions and operations in the rapidly evolving space domain. Space Force was signed into law Dec. 20, 2019 as part of the 2020 National Defense Authorization Act.