Is a vegetable a fruit?

Fruits contain seeds, while vegetables can consist of roots, stems and leaves. ... Vegetables have a more mild or savory taste and are usually eaten as part of a side dish or main course. Summary: Botanically, fruits contain seeds and come from the flower of a plant,