What are genetically modified mosquitoes?

GM mosquitoes are mosquitoes that have been implanted with a gene that was not originally present or naturally occurring in the insect. In one case, the implant in question is a self-limiting gene that disrupts the normal processes of mosquitoes

---

the most common one is a sterile male, they are used to lower populations in a certain area