When is a puppy considered a dog?

A puppy can be considered a dog after it has reached 1 to 2 years old. Smaller breeds will mature as early as 9 months to a year, and larger breeds may take as long as 2 years to mature.

---

Puppies mature into adults at a different time, a large dog breed will mature into an adult at about 15 months, while smaller breeds will be puppies for only 9 months.