What started the french and indian war?

Rebecca Beatrice Brooks June 8, 2016 August 11, 2018 2 Comments. The French and Indian War, which took place between 1754-1763, began due to a conflict between England and France over control of the Ohio River Valley. Both sides wanted the valley so they could expand their settlements into the area.