What is water on the elbow?

Olecranon bursitis, water on the elbow, is a condition in which swelling and inflammation occur in a small fluid-filled sac (the bursa) at the tip of the elbow. ... When it becomes inflamed the bursa can produce more fluid. This leads to swelling and a painful bubble at the elbow tip.