Where is milk chocolate come from?

In 1672 Sir Hans Sloane, founder of the British Museum and physician to Queen Anne and George II, added milk to drinking chocolate as he recognized the therapeutic qualities of chocolate. Chocolate is made from cocoa beans, the dried and fermented seeds of the cacao tree.