How many people years equals one dog year?

It varies. The 1st year equals 15 human years of a medium-sized dog. Year two equals 9 years, and each year after equals 7 years. So for a three year old dog, 15+9+7 equals 31 years. So your 3 year old dog is 31 in human years.