What is a quarter rattle?

intransitive verb. 1 : to make a rapid succession of short sharp noises the windows rattled in the wind. 2 : to chatter incessantly and aimlessly. 3 : to move with a clatter or rattle also : to be or move about in a place or station too large or grand rattled around the big old house.