When did michael jackson become white?

From the mid-1980s, Jackson's appearance began to change. The shape of his face, particularly his nose, triggered speculation of cosmetic surgery. His skin tone became much lighter. Although diagnosed with the skin disorder vitiligo, it was suggested that his lighter tone was partly due to bleaching