What is the origin of dragon fruit?

The origin of dragon fruit is unknown, but it is probably native to Central America. The plant is now cultivated in locales as diverse as Cambodia, Thailand, Taiwan, Malaysia, Vietnam, Sri Lanka, the Philippines, Indonesia & Bangladesh. It is prolific in Central America, Mexico, & Asia.

---

Dragon Fruit (Pitaya) is cultivated in Peru, Mexico, South Asia, Southeast Asia, East Asia, the United States, the Caribbean, Australia, and Mesoamerica. It is the fruit of a type of succulent or cactus.