Where does stromboli come from?

There are several claims regarding the origin of the usage of the name stromboli for food in the United States. Romano's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria claims to have first used the name in 1950 in Essington, Pennsylvania, just outside Philadelphia, courtesy of Nazzareno Romano.