How do you cook icing sugar?

Put the butter into a large bowl and beat with an electric hand mixer until light and fluffy. Sift in the icing sugar, then work it into the butter, starting slowly at first, then beating more vigorously once all the sugar is combined. Add the milk and the vanilla, then beat until creamy and smooth.