What are the years of the vietnam war?

Since there was no declaration of the war, exact dates are sketchy. However, it is now widely accepted that the Vietnam War started on November 1, 1955 and lasted until April 30, 1975, which is roughly 20 years, or 19 years, 180 days to be precise.

---

The Vietnam War was a conflict in Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia from November 1955 to April 1975. After the French quit Indochina in 1954, the U.S. assumed financial and military support for the South Vietnamese state. U.S. involvement escalated under Presidents John F. Kennedy and Lyndon Johnson.