What happened on december seven nineteen forty one?

On December 7th, 1941, the Japanese Navy, led a naval and air attack on the United States naval base of, Pearl Harbor. On December 8th, 1941, U.S. President, Franklin Delano Roosevelt, gave a speech to Congress calling it, "a date which will live in infamy".