What is the difference between cake flour and pastry flour?

Protein content. Cake flour has slightly less protein than pastry flour, and is usually bleached to weaken its proteins. Cake flour has a finer texture than pastry flour which makes it more delicate.

---

Protein content: Cake flour has a protein content of six percent, while pastry flour has a slightly higher protein content of eight percent. Therefore, cake flour has less gluten than pastry flour. The lower protein content affects the elasticity of baked goods.