What is the j. stand for in michael j. fox?

When Michael J. Fox registered with the Screen Actors Guild, he discovered that Michael Fox, a veteran character actor, was already registered. Fox did not like the sound of "Michael A. Fox" so he adopted a new middle initial and settled on "J," as a tribute to actor Michael J. Pollard.