Tell me about the winter advisory?

A winter weather advisory originally identified as a Traveler's Advisory until the 2002-03 climatological winter when officially renamed and informally as such by some local TV stations thereafter is a hazardous weather statement issued by Weather Forecast Offices of the National Weather Service NWS