When was the cinder block invented?

The first hollow concrete block was designed in 1890 by Harmon S. Palmer in the United States. After 10 years of experimenting, Palmer patented the design in 1900. Palmer's blocks were 8 inches by 10 inches by 30 inches, and they were so heavy they had to be lifted into place with a small crane.

---

Harmon S. Palmer invented the first commercially successful concrete block machine in 1900 Ball State University, the Cardinal Scholar