What are corvette?

From Meriam Webster, a corvette is: 1: a warship ranking in the old sailing navies next below a frigate 2: a highly maneuverable armed escort ship that is smaller than a destroyer. There is also the Chevrolet, Corvette, an iconic sports car first released in 1953.