What is another alternative for a black beans?

Black Bean Substitutes. It's easy to swap out one type of bean for another, especially in recipes like soups, stews, or casseroles. Some will look quite different, have different textures, and tastes. Great northern and pinto beans are most similar to black beans in texture.