What's a drown in minecraft?

Drowned are hostile, underwater variants of the zombie that were added to Minecraft as part of 1.13 - The Update Aquatic. They can spawn naturally in bodies of water such as oceans or rivers, or when a zombie is submerged underwater for 30 seconds.