How popular is multiverse?

The multiverse is everywhere in popular culture. What gives? In an early scene of “Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness,” the spell-casting superhero (Benedict Cumberbatch) encounters a character from another universe who offers him a primer on the multiverse concept.